You are currently browsing the daily archive for May 16, 2007.

As you might know, the word sophomore comes from two Greek words – Soph meaning wisdom and more, meaning foolishness. So it actually means ‘wise fool’.

This is a helpful concept. You can see why this might be a good name for a person in the second year of high school or college. Someone who thinks ‘I’ve done this for a year, I’ve got it figured out. I’m so much wiser than those freshmen’ only to fail at something because of their overconfidence.

So a sophomoric act would be one where wisdom or experience brings overconfidence which results in foolishness. Wise -> Fool

So what would you call someone who did something foolish and was then able to pull out its repercussions with a little bit of wisdom? Morosophic?

The reason I ask is this is what I saw in my six year old son last Saturday.

The situation? (You see? doesn’t that sound smarmy?) The day before, I had taken all of the kids out on errands and one of the things we bought was a programmable coffee maker for my wife for Mother’s day (Noting, of course, that they should keep this purchase under their hats) and hid it in our trunk.

The next day, Saturday, the day before Mother’s day, due to bad engineering on the part of the coffee maker maker, Debbie ended up with coffee grounds all over the counter. So when she was out at Walmart an hour later, she bought a new one. The same one that I had bought 14 hours earlier.

When she got home, Barrett found me in the yard building our new garden and he said “Did you know that Mom bought a new coffee maker?” I had feared that she might, but I told him that we would figure it out and bring one of them back.

So here’s the foolish act: Barrett went in and said to her, “Daddy’s not happy that you bought a coffee maker” It was at this point that she figured it out, I think. She said “Why, did he already buy me one?”

Barrett looked away, thought for a second, said “I’m going outside now” and did so.

My son Barrett, Third son, Kindergardener, . . . Morosophe.

  

My Wife’s Blog

My State Park Blog

My Advertisement – Songs To Help Families Memorize Scripture

I’m on Twitter

To Subscribe

Archives

Categories

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.