You are currently browsing the daily archive for November 12, 2007.

No, I did not have the guts to actually send this to a coworker-guy outside our department in response to his last email a few years ago (even though I was frustrated enough to type it out):

I have two problems with your suggestion: (1) the data in <one source> are not at all similar to <the other source>, and (2) it still doesn’t come close to answering the question I have posed now five times (in different ways) in this email stream, namely – quoting from my last email, two emails below: Who can help us determine the mapping of the two fields <the two fields in question>?

I know that there are different reasons for sending out an email, and one of them is to communicate to the recipient: Hey look, I can send out an email!  I’ll not deny that this reason may have been a minor motivation in my sending out my last response.

But there is another (some would say a more important) reason for sending out an email, and that is to attain the following goal: To get the recipient to read and comprehend the actual message in the email. And in the case where the email is a request for data (as this was) to respond with either an answer, or a statement explaining that the recipient doesn’t have available to him/her at present. Not a set of words apparently chosen at random.

So you can understand my frustration when your last email sent in response to my last email appeared to disregard completely the content of the email to which it was responding.

Perhaps next time, in hopes of preventing this misunderstanding, I will put this as a disclaimer:

“* * * * * Please Consider Actually Reading The Content of this Email Before Responding * * * * *.”

Would that be helpful?

<Jamsco>

My Wife’s Blog

My State Park Blog

My Advertisement – Songs To Help Families Memorize Scripture

I’m on Twitter

To Subscribe

Archives

Categories

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.