You are currently browsing the daily archive for January 7, 2008.

I think most Christians have heard the ACTS acronym with respect to prayer: Adoration, Confession, Thanksgiving and Supplication (asking)

Every year, on or about the last Sunday of the year, Pastor John gives a sermon about prayer. This time (in last week’s sermon), he added one that I hadn’t heard before, which he described as slightly controversial, but nevertheless biblical:

And finally, you can complain to the Lord. “With my voice I cry out to the Lord. . . .  I pour out my complaint before him; I tell my trouble before him” (Psalm 142:1-2). Now here, again, language frustrates. So are you saying, Pastor John, that it is good to have a complaining heart toward God? No. Philippians 2:14: “Do all things without grumbling or questioning.” It’s not good to have a complaining heart. The heart should trust God in all his sweet and bitter providences. So why then do you say we should complain to the Lord? Because sometimes our hearts do complain about the circumstances God has given us, even though our hearts shouldn’t do this, and it is better to consciously direct it toward the Lord than to think he doesn’t see it. Acting like you are not complaining is hypocrisy and will make you a very phony, shallow, plastic person in the end.

I thought this a worthy thing to note.

My Wife’s Blog

My State Park Blog

My Advertisement – Songs To Help Families Memorize Scripture

I’m on Twitter

To Subscribe

Archives

Categories

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.