You are currently browsing the daily archive for February 13, 2008.

. . . And My Response to them.

It has been suggested (By Bethyada– and may I just suggest that for a really complex discussion on this issue that uses lots of fancy words, you should go to the debate that took place right here on this blog by Starwind and Bethyada) that I continue without Vox in my discussions. I have hesitated to do this, because I really would like to know where Vox is coming from before I continue, but perhaps this is a wise idea nevertheless.  Vox was “grateful” in early December and lately he has busy (reasonably so) Irrational Atheisting, so who knows when he’s going to get back to this.

It has also be suggested (by Vox) that Omniderigests make a habit of taking a passage and wrongly say that their way of reading it (God is in detailed control of the World) it is the only way, when there are in fact many ways of reading it.

Very Well - 

I just started reading Second Thessalonians and I came across this passage in chapter 2 (starting at 11.)

Therefore God sends them a strong delusion, so that they may believe what is false, 12 in order that all may be condemned who did not believe the truth but had pleasure in unrighteousness.

Now I, as a compatibleist, take this to mean that God causes Non Believers to not believe the truth (by sending them a lie) but that they are also responsible for their non-belief. So in this passage we have Free Will and God Causing Sin. A very compatibleist couple of verses.

How do you God is Not In Detailed Control Folks read this passage? I know you have a different way – what is it?

My Wife’s Blog

My State Park Blog

My Advertisement – Songs To Help Families Memorize Scripture

I’m on Twitter

  • Our 8Kid Dinner Table Warning: ‘To everyone who eats, more will be given, but from the 1 who eats not, even what he has will be taken away.’ 6 hours ago
  • Someone found the #FighterVerseSongs website by searching for 'dövüşçü şarkıları' which is (apparently) turkish for 'Fighter Song' 7 hours ago
  • This week's Fighter Verse Song is from a few years back. tinyurl.com/m28f8ul Jeremiah 1:12 God watches over His word. 16 hours ago

To Subscribe

Archives

Categories

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.