You are currently browsing the daily archive for February 20, 2008.

Here’s an example:

“As for the 1972 Dolphins, I don’t take joy in the fact the Patriots lost — period,” said Jim Mandich, the tight end on the 17-0 team. “But I do relish and savor the fact that there has only been one unbeaten team in the history of the NFL, and it is the 1972 Miami Dolphins.”

No, No, No, No. You don’t put “Period” on the end of a sentence just for extra emphasis, or as another way of saying “And I mean it!”. You put it there when you are shortening someone else’s sentence.

Example Of Correct Usage

“I think you don’t want to go to Iowa with Peter’s friends.”
“No, I don’t want to go to Iowa, period.”

You see? It’s not difficult. It’s just not very often that it is applicable. But using it improperly makes you look, to anyone with verbal awareness, like someone who is trying to sound impressive but is ignorant of how to do so.

My Wife’s Blog

My State Park Blog

My Advertisement – Songs To Help Families Memorize Scripture

I’m on Twitter

  • Our 8Kid Dinner Table Warning: ‘To everyone who eats, more will be given, but from the 1 who eats not, even what he has will be taken away.’ 2 days ago
  • Someone found the #FighterVerseSongs website by searching for 'dövüşçü şarkıları' which is (apparently) turkish for 'Fighter Song' 2 days ago
  • This week's Fighter Verse Song is from a few years back. tinyurl.com/m28f8ul Jeremiah 1:12 God watches over His word. 2 days ago

To Subscribe

Archives

Categories

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.