You are currently browsing the daily archive for September 26, 2008.

Everything I Ever Needed To Know I Learned From C.S. Lewis’s The Silver Chair

 

However tired you are, it takes some nerve to walk up to a giant’s front door. *** Don’t look frightened, whatever you do. *** Beetles fancy other beetles, they do say. *** Smells alright, but that’s nothing to go by. *** If you can swim, a giant bath is a lovely thing. *** I know nothing so disagreeable as being kissed by a giantess. *** Many fall down, and few return to the sunlit lands. *** Many come down and few return to the sunlit lands. *** Many sink down and few return to the sunlit lands. *** There are no accidents; . . he knew all things that would come of them, including this. *** There is nothing like a good shock of pain for dissolving certain kinds of magic. *** I’m a chap who likes to know the worst and then put the best face I can on it. *** Suppose we have dreamed, or made up all those things – tress and grass and sun and moon and stars. Suppose we have. Then all I can say is that, in that case, the made-up things seem a good deal more important than the real ones. Suppose this black pit of yours is the only world. Then it strikes me as a pretty poor one. And that’s a funny thing, when you come to think of it. We’re just babies making up a game, if you’re right. But four babies playing a game can make a play-world that can like your world hollow. That’s why I’m going to stand by the play-world.

My Wife’s Blog

My State Park Blog

My Advertisement – Songs To Help Families Memorize Scripture

I’m on Twitter

  • Our 8Kid Dinner Table Warning: ‘To everyone who eats, more will be given, but from the 1 who eats not, even what he has will be taken away.’ 1 day ago
  • Someone found the #FighterVerseSongs website by searching for 'dövüşçü şarkıları' which is (apparently) turkish for 'Fighter Song' 1 day ago
  • This week's Fighter Verse Song is from a few years back. tinyurl.com/m28f8ul Jeremiah 1:12 God watches over His word. 2 days ago

To Subscribe

Archives

Categories

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.