You are currently browsing the daily archive for April 15, 2009.

So I jog two miles once or twice a week (2 miles), and being a numbers guy, I keep track of my times. I keep a running average for the year and compare it to the running average for last year at this time.

 

So for example, this year I have run 12 times and my running average is 6.3 seconds faster compared to the average from the first 12 times from last year. So I got to wondering, if I knew how fast I ran on the thirteenth jog last year, could I figure out how fast I need to run next time to keep my 6.3 second average difference?

 

The answer is yes, I can figure it out, and now I’m giving you this assignment: How?

 

Your homework is to determine, given a running average A, and the time in seconds that I am better than last year D (D is for average Difference), the number of times I’ve jogged this year – NT, and my jogging time from last years NT+1th time jogging.

 

Given all of that, the problem you are to solve is to figure out how fast I have to jog the next time I run to keep up my D (Time in seconds that I am better than last year).

 

Hint: For me it wouldn’t have been the first answer that came to mind.

As an insentive to answer this questions, I will give you this: You will have the pleasant and inspiring knowledge that your high school math homework wasn’t wasted.

And give your answer in the comments.

My Wife’s Blog

My State Park Blog

My Advertisement – Songs To Help Families Memorize Scripture

I’m on Twitter

To Subscribe

Archives

Categories

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.