You are currently browsing the daily archive for April 17, 2009.

Everything I Ever Needed To Know I Learned From

R.A. Carlsen, College Professor (Part 2 of 2)

 

The Faith & Learning is an interesting question in science and mathematics. In my opinion, the better issue is Faith & Practice. This means you help your classmate, I help you (assuming that you have been in class) and we thus attempt to keep stress to a minimum. *** I will say things like ‘Jesus loves little children and linear differential equations with constant coefficients’. This is not taking a low view of the Bible but associating an idea with a dumb statement. *** Finally, don’t read the footnotes in the lectures that have been written out as they are reference for me. Remember what happened to Adam and Eve when they didn’t follow instructions. *** Do you know what a matrix is? How to multiply a square matrix by a column matrix? We are not going to do this today as the object is to find the edge. You have an assignment: rent the video and have a party. At Bethel? Yes. *** One should realize that in Christian circles the concept of salvation by grace is learned by repeated usage in sermons and most certainly in Scripture. Likewise, one can obtain a sensitivity to the distinction between, say, the Hamiltonian H and the Hamiltonian operator by repeated usage. *** Be creative in your thinking. *** . . . . The following verse came to mind from Hebrews chapter 11. That is, ‘Now faith is the substance of things hoped for. The evidence of things not seen’. Being involved with science most of my adult life, the idea of evidence is importance. The concept that I came away with was that faith, itself, was the evidence. Secondly, the idea of knowledge is of major importance because it serves as the basis for what we think we know. Notice that the verse talks about ‘Things hoped for’. What we have is the hope of ever lasting life.

My Wife’s Blog

My State Park Blog

My Advertisement – Songs To Help Families Memorize Scripture

I’m on Twitter

To Subscribe

Archives

Categories

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.