I made these up about ten years ago. It’s likely they aren’t very funny. My reason for thinking this is I sent them in to Readers Digest and they didn’t take them.

Hopefully, your mileage may vary.

1.
Peter and Christopher, two third grade kids, were in reading class.

Peter, pointing to a passage in his book, asked, “What does this word ‘Context’ mean?

Christopher looked over to Peter’s book where Peter was pointing and said “I don’t know, what’s the . . . words around it?”

2. Peter and Christopher, two third grade kids, later that day were eating lunch and Christopher was explaining how his mom chose which fruit to put in his lunch.

“On Tuesdays and Thursdays she gives me an orange,” he explained, “and on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays she gives me an apple.”

“Which do you like best?” asked Peter.

Christopher thought for a few seconds and then said “I don’t know. That’s like comparing . . . two different things.”

