You are currently browsing the daily archive for August 24, 2009.

Earlier this month, as a part of the Bethlehem Reading Plan, I was reading Nehemiah, and I noticed that at the end of many sections,  Nehemiah (the author) puts in little commentaries which are prayers to God. They seemed somewhat poetic to me, so I got the idea of compiling them all into a Psalm.

Here is what I ended up with:

Psalm Of Nehemiah

O Lord, let your ear be attentive,
   to the prayer of your servant,
and to the prayer of your servants,
   who delight to fear your name,
and give success to your servant today,
   and grant him mercy in the sight of this man.

Hear, O our God, for we are despised.
   Turn back their taunt on their own heads,
and give them up to be plundered,
   in a land where they are captives.
Do not cover their guilt,
   and let not their sin be,
   blotted out from your sight,
for they have provoked you to anger,
   in the presence of the builders.
Remember the Lord,
   who is great and awesome,
and fight for your brothers
   your sons, your daughters,
   your wives, and your homes.

The work is great and widely spread,
   and we are separated on the wall,
far from one another.
   In the place where you hear,
the sound of the trumpet,
   rally to us there,

Our God will fight for us.

Remember for my good, O my God
   all that I have done for this people.

But now, O God, strengthen my hands.

Now, therefore, our God,
   the great, the mighty, and the awesome God,
who keeps covenant and steadfast love,
   let not all the hardship seem little to you,
upon our kings, our princes, our priests
   our prophets, our fathers, and all your people,
since the time of the kings of Assyria
   until this day.

We will not neglect the house of our God.

Remember me, O my God, concerning this,
   and do not wipe out my good deeds that I have done,
   for the house of my God and for his service.

Remember them, O my God,
   because they have desecrated the priesthood,
   and the covenant of the priesthood and the Levites.

Remember me, O my God, for good.

My Wife’s Blog

My State Park Blog

My Advertisement – Songs To Help Families Memorize Scripture

I’m on Twitter

To Subscribe

Archives

Categories

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.