So now we come, finally, to the last LOTR book and it is with some sadness that I submit this last list. I make one note: the first quote here is the only one, in all of these lists of quotes as I have compiled them, where the narrator says it, not one of the characters. I think it is to Tolkien’s credit that he lets his actors speak most of the wisdom.

Everything I ever needed to know I learned from The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King – Book 6

The one small garden of a free gardener was all his need and due, not a garden swollen to a realm; his own hands to use, not the hands of others to command.  ··· The shadow that bred the enemy can only mock, it cannot make: not real new things of its own. ··· Talking won’t mend nothing. ··· Well, one can’t be everywhere at once, seemingly. ··· The world is full enough of hurts and mischances without wars to multiply them. ··· It needs but one foe to breed a war, not two, and those who have not swords can still die upon them. ··· It is not always good to be healed in body, nor is it always evil to die in battle, even in bitter pain. ··· Do not scorn pity that is the gift of a gentle heart. ··· Many folk like to know before hand what is to be set on the table; but those who have labored to prepare the feast likes to keep their secret; for wonder make the words of praise louder. ··· The tree grows best in the land of its sires. ··· A snake without fangs may crawl where he will. ··· Never is too long a word. ··· Don’t let you heads get too big for your hats. ··· The road goes ever on and on, out from the door where it began. ··· Alas! There are some wounds that cannot be wholly cured. ··· There is no real going back. Though I may come to my home, it will not seem the same, for I shall not be the same. ··· It is useless to meet revenge with revenge. ··· It’s an ill wind as blows as blows nobody no good, as I always say. And All’s well as ends Better. ··· Make the name short and then you won’t have to cut it short before you can use it. ··· Still round the corner there may wait a new road or a secret gate; ··· I tried to save our home and it has been saved, but not for me. It must often be so, when things are in danger: some one has to give them up, lose them, so that others may keep them. ··· Go in peace! I will not say: Do not weep, for not all tears are evil.

