Two days late – another college poem

Grand Schemes

And as the Light and shadows fall across my page

I outline them with my pen

With the full hopeless knowledge that after this stage

Not one, not even I will understand them again.

 

These are not Grand Schemes of which I write

They are notes to a significant, lines from a far state

I feel the guilt as great poets I spite

But then possibly not, since admittedly I am not great

 

I write of the parallel between

The very simple and the everyday

The Grand I have not heard nor seen

But these others I may display

 

What of me if the abstract in me

Cannot be put by me to line?

And what, if the only rhymes I see

Are too simple to be fine?

 

 

 

20 Years Later my answer is: Then you’re probably not that great a poet.

