I have found that it is wise to consider trusting an idea that comes from two relatively non-connected sources. My wife and my Mom, for example, don’t always agree, so when I am undecided on a decision we are trying to make, and both of them have an opinion, and they agree with each other, I am relieved. Because if they agree with each other, it’s a pretty good bet that they are right.

Another example of this is when Debbie and I were newly married, within a few weeks two former roommates of mine (both who knew me well but didn’t really know each other) both commented that I was a person who rarely complained. (This was 12 years ago, mind you.) Sometimes a person is unsure whether to trust a compliment. This time, because it came from two sources, I trusted it. So did my wife and I was grateful for their words.*

The flip side of this is when two disparate sources think you are wrong. This means it’s time to reconsider and it happened to me on Monday after my post about less important activities.

Marie, generally a thoughtful person, commented, cordially, but her message was clear: I was mistaken. Okay. Hmmm. I wrote a quick rebuttal and hoped it would help me stop wondering if I had written an unwise post. Nope.

So I walked over and showed the post and the comments to BlaChr, who never has any qualms about stating that I am crazy and nor did he, in this case, show any hesitancy to state that this was a wrong-minded post. (He took especially exception to the personal hygiene items on the list, to wit: “Why you gotta hate on being clean?”) (And he suggested one that I had missed: Video Games)

Hmmm.

So I brought it home and showed it to my wife who was, I state with zero pride, somewhat angered by my post. She would like me to make it clear, for example, that she has our kids dust once a week, and she does iron and we do vacuum more than once every half year. Indeed, now that I think about it, I vacuumed on Saturday.

I’d like to hide behind the idea that I was intentionally overt exaggerating (like you do) and that the astute reader would know this, but (at least) three usually astute readers didn’t enjoy the post’s subtle humor. To say the least.

So . . . what to do now? I think I can say that my main point is still valid: There are things that people do that keep them from doing more important things. But maybe I was a bit overzealous.

So, how’s this for a new list?:

6 Time-users which, if you do one of them, (in Jamsco’s Opinion, but he in no way thinks this list is universal, complete or decisive) (and he readily admits that he wastes his time regularly (and perhaps if anyone reading this would care to comment with some additions to the list, maybe he, too, would be forced to rethink his priorities a little)) should, perhaps, cause you to pause and wonder if doing the thing less will enable you to glorify God in a more real way:

1. You play video games, like, a lot.
2. You wash your car more than once a week (with an exemption if you live in a really dusty environment)
3. You watch more than, say . . . 5 hours of TV a week.
4. You golf.
5. You read fame magazines.
6.  You dust more than once every half day.

But I don’t know. Is 6 enough to make a list worth reading?

* Guys, if you want to do a friend a favor, make nice comments about him within earshot of the girl he is trying to impress.

