You are currently browsing the daily archive for December 17, 2007.

I have made it no secret that I like pop music. I can also state that during the month of December, I listen to a great deal of the All Christmas Music stations. And I sing a long – at the top of my lungs. But just like there are lame pop songs the rest of the year – there are also lame Christmas songs. Today I will discuss “Where are you Christmas?” by Faith Hill. Here are the lyrics for those of you who stay away.

Where are you Christmas
Why can’t I find you
Why have you gone away
Where is the laughter
You used to bring me
Why can’t I hear music play

My world is changing
I’m rearranging
Does that mean Christmas changes too

Where are you Christmas
Do you remember
The one you used to know
I’m not the same one
See what the time’s done
Is that why you have let me go

Christmas is here
Everywhere, oh
Christmas is here
If you care, oh

If there is love in your heart and your mind
You will feel like Christmas all the time

I feel you Christmas
I know I’ve found you
You never fade away
The joy of Christmas
Stays here inside us
Fills each and every heart with love

Where are you Christmas
Fill your heart with love

And My Comments:

1. Okay, now. Did she write this when she was in Junior High?

2. “My World is Changing – I’m Rearranging”? I think we can all agree that if you are borrowing a rhyming scheme from the Brady Bunch it’s time to reevaluated your song writing methods.

3. Here’s a tip. If you’re writing a song about Christmas – put in something that has to do with Christmas – and it doesn’t have to be real Christmas stuff (Baby Jesus, Manger, Bethlehem) it could talk about winter or December, or decorations, or presents. Do a little brainstorming.

4. Notable: If you replace the word “Christmas” with “Happy” in the entire song – it makes just as much sense – and has just as much meaning – which is to say – not very much.

5. I haven’t experience much in the way of sadness around the holidays, but I know this is a very significant problem with many. Still, I’m going to go out on a limb and suggest that there are people who are depressed during the month of December who’s problems aren’t going to be fixed by being told “Christmas is here if you care”

6. For better songs that display Christmas induced angst – I recommend two:

A. “We need a little Christmas”
Which has as part of it’s second verse:
For I’ve grown a little leaner,
Grown a little colder,
Grown a little sadder,
Grown a little older,
And I need a little angel
Sitting on my shoulder,
I need a little Christmas now.

B.

I can hardly stand the wait, please Christmas don’t be late
- The Chipmunks

* “When it’s time to change you have to rearrange who you are and what you’re going to be! Shananananana nananana!” – And yes, I watched entirely too much television when I was a kid.

My Wife’s Blog

My State Park Blog

My Advertisement – Songs To Help Families Memorize Scripture

I’m on Twitter

To Subscribe

Archives

Categories

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.