In a slightly more romantic way than last year

Yes, in case you were wondering, my wife does inspire me to be better. I want her to love me. I want her to not be disappointed in me. I want her to be encouraged and inspired by me.

She is of the type who as a single, was never desperate. Her parent would never have needed to fear that she would marry unwisely just so she could get a husband. So I knew that I needed to be better than average to get her. If she sensed weakness (or other failings) in a potential husband, she dropped him. I know this from personal experience. I was of those dropped.

But I worked, and changed and became an adult and grew in my commitment and got her to change her mind. Now just a bit more than 14 years ago.

I am blessed to have her. She is a gift from God.

