One of the better creative minds of our time tackles this issue in song. Here are the lyrics of the first verse:

 

I was watching my TV one night when they broke in with a special report
About some devastating earthquake in Peru
There were thirty thousand crushed to death, even more were buried alive
On the Richter scale it measured 8.2

And I said, “God, please answer me one question”

So you’re probably wondering – what is the question and how will he answer it? Fair enough, here is the rest of the verse:

 

And I said, “God, please answer me one question?”
“Why’d they have to interrupt ‘The Simpsons’ just for this?”
What a drag, ’cause I was taping it and everything
And now I’ll have to wait for the rerun to see the part of the show I missed

Why does this always happen?
Why does this always happen to me?
Why does this always happen?
Why does this always happen to me? . . .

 

So the solution our lyricist comes up with to handle the problem of tragic large-scale pain in the world is to focus on the more trivial pain in our own lives. But it’s not like he’s the first human to come up with this method, so he loses originality points there.

 

But notable is the fact that Mr Yankovic, just like the author of the book of Job, never answers the big Why question, leaving it artistically open ended.

 

And it’s a pretty good song, don’t you think?

