. . . that Bethlehem is not a completely dry place.

(Although you may have to look else where for proof we have good poets.)

Last Sunday I went to the quarterly meeting and learned (to my shock and dismay) that (if I understand correctly) Bethlehem (up until last Sunday) had no deacons! Or no process to established new deacons! Or something! And this despite the clear biblical teaching that churches should have them and the fact that they were extant in the early church.

And there was great discussion and debate and a non-zero amount of confusion about what defines a deacon (Is it a person or a position?) And in the end we elected 8 new deacons. And there was much rejoicing.

So now I read that one of our most highly placed pastors has penned a hymn about this.

MARVEL at the goofiness! STUMBLE over the word ‘Qualifications’! WONDER how one ‘beaks’! IGNORE the fact that some lines have too many syllables!

I enjoyed it.

