You are currently browsing the daily archive for September 4, 2008.

 

While I am not fond of spiders, I find spider webs to be quite interesting and somewhat beautiful. Nevertheless, our family encountered a large web last week that I think indicates great initiative but poor planning. And I blame the spider’s parents.

 

It was big and impressive, but it was placed just outside of our porch door, parallel with it and only a few feet from the glass, so that anyone who comes through the door had to be very careful not to walk right into it. There are a few tips that I would expect mother and father spiders to teach their children, and one of them is “Don’t work for a whole day putting a web in a human high traffic area! It’s just going to get wrecked!”

 

This should be right between “Take care not to step on the sticky part of the web” and “If it’s a stink bug, let it go.”

 

If this spider didn’t grow up in an orphanage, some mom or dad spider dropped the ball.

 

But I hear the spider-parent-defender: Well, maybe this is one of those spiders out of a cheesy scary movie from the seventies. Maybe it’s trying to feast on humans. To this I respond: Hey Scary Movie Spider Parents! My six year old daughter took a stick and got rid of it in about five seconds. Teach your youngsters to start smaller – like with squirrels or something.

 

This isn’t rocket science!

My Wife’s Blog

My State Park Blog

Promotion – Songs To Help Families Memorize Scripture

I’m on Twitter

  • @BarnabasPiper I'm trying to remember what happened with Clarence Thomas. 1 week ago
  • Making a bold statement that almost everyone agrees with doesn't make you impressive. It makes you normal or not reprehensible. 1 month ago
  • You don't have to be the best in the world (or your family or your church or your workplace) to be of value or to experience joy. 1 month ago

To Subscribe

Archives

Categories

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930