ex-cru-ci-at-ing

Spelled Pronunciation [ik-skroo-shee-ey-ting]

–adjective

1.

extremely painful; causing intense suffering; unbearably distressing; torturing:

 Origin:
1560–70; < L excruciātus, ptp. of excruciāre to torment, torture, equiv. to ex- ex-
1 + cruciāre to torment, crucify (deriv. of crux cross);

 ==

 

Given the fact that this word means something near to “Out of the cross”, I am fairly surprised that this word ever came into existence in what was probably a Christian culture. To use it is to say: that person’s pain was so bad it was like being crucified. Isn’t that near blasphemy?

 

I have experienced very little pain in my life, so I haven’t really had opportunity to use this word, but I would be very nervous to say about even a horrendous pain, “Yikes, this feels as bad as being on a cross.”

 

I’d be worried about a lightening bolt coming.

