There is a boy in our small group who sings poorly, and I think he knows it, but he still sings loudly when we worship together. My dad was like that, he sang along with the rest of us when we sang happy birthday for our kids. I have another friend who sings with his children loudly (I’ve heard him) even though he can’t really match the notes.

 

I know that there are those who prefer not to sing at all because they are embarrassed by their singing abilities. So as someone who can carry a tune, I feel honored every time I sing near one of these people who can’t, because they are willing to do this – they are willing to enter into worship – even though doing so risks the disapproval of others. When they do this, they are saying “I trust you. I want to be a part of this God-Praising time.”

 

Good on them.

