So I jog two miles once or twice a week (2 miles), and being a numbers guy, I keep track of my times. I keep a running average for the year and compare it to the running average for last year at this time.

 

So for example, this year I have run 12 times and my running average is 6.3 seconds faster compared to the average from the first 12 times from last year. So I got to wondering, if I knew how fast I ran on the thirteenth jog last year, could I figure out how fast I need to run next time to keep my 6.3 second average difference?

 

The answer is yes, I can figure it out, and now I’m giving you this assignment: How?

 

Your homework is to determine, given a running average A, and the time in seconds that I am better than last year D (D is for average Difference), the number of times I’ve jogged this year – NT, and my jogging time from last years NT+1th time jogging.

 

Given all of that, the problem you are to solve is to figure out how fast I have to jog the next time I run to keep up my D (Time in seconds that I am better than last year).

 

Hint: For me it wouldn’t have been the first answer that came to mind.

As an insentive to answer this questions, I will give you this: You will have the pleasant and inspiring knowledge that your high school math homework wasn’t wasted.

And give your answer in the comments.

