There are days when I am flat on my back unable to get out of bed. These days I have peace about taking a sick day away from Corporate America.

Today is not one of those days. I feel moderately sick. Only slightly worse than I’ve felt all week. And I’ve gone to work all week. Today I’m staying home. I very rarely do this. I have a headache, I’m tired, and I have the worst sore throat in ten years, which according to TWO clinics is not strep.

But now I am second guessing my decision to stay home.

Should I have gone to work?

Would I have gotten work done if I had?

Would I have exposed coworkers to potential sickness? Did I already do that earlier this week?

If the average person knew how I felt, would they say “Hey, Johnnie LazyBones – get to work!”?

If my boss knew how I actually felt, would he have told me to stay home?

Should I try to do work here on the couch?

Should I try to sleep?

Should I try to help my wife out with all she’s doing? If I’m strong enough to do that, does it mean I should not be here?

Is it okay if I blog?

The answer to that last question is, apparently, ‘Yes’

How do you know when you should stay home?

