Everything I Ever Needed To Know I Learned From The Lord Of The Rings, Books 2,3 and 4

Don’t adventures have an end? I guess not. *** I must have something to work on. *** One must tread the path that need chooses. *** Let us rest as much as we can. *** A man can both walk in legends and on the green earth. *** When the great fall, the less must lead. *** It is likely enough that we are going to our doom. But if we stayed home and did nothing, doom would find us anyway. *** An old man with feet that leave marks may be no more than he seemed. *** Let us look first and guess later. *** If it is all we can do to sit down beside and show our friendship by starving together, then we must do that. *** Hope is not victory. *** Have patience. Go where you must go, and hope. *** Seldom does thief ride home to the stable. *** My counsel is to cast aside regret and fear. To do the deed at hand. *** I would not snare even an orc with a falsehood. *** Tidings of death have many wings *** War must be, while we defend our lives against a destroyer who would devour us all. But I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend. *** Better mistrust undeserved than rash words. *** If you’re short of sleep cold water on the neck’s like rain on wilted lettuce. *** It is not good to sleep too soon after meat. *** The praise of the praiseworthy is above all rewards.

