There once were two men on a train headed west from Missouri.

“Headed for the coast?” asked the one man, named Jerry.

“Nope. My family and I just bought a house in Aspen, Colorado,” the other man, George, stated happily.

“Yes, but you’re going to end up in California.”

“Why do say that?”

“Because that’s the way you’re headed. And if you don’t stop now, that’s where you’ll end up. In fact, I think it’s where you secretly want to end up.”

George looked at Jerry, wondering if he was joking.

“No, I’ll end up in Colorado. I don’t like the Ocean. I like the mountains.”

“That’s too bad. Because, look – this train is headed west . . . towards CALIFORNIA. This train is headed to Sacramento.”

“Through Colorado.”

“Straight on to the west coast. There’s nothing you can do to prevent it. Stop now.”

“In Nebraska?”

“You will if you don’t want to end up in the ocean, my friend.”

“I’ll take my chances.”

There was a pause in the conversation as Jerry regrouped his thoughts.

“Listen, there once was a frog put into some room temperature water by some scientists and then they –“

“Are you saying a boiling frog is evidence that I’m going to miss my stop?”

“Well, it happened to the frog. And also there’s this: Imagine you’re on a wagon and it’s going down hill and you don’t know when it’s going to get so steep that you can’t stop yourself. That’s where you are right now.”

“No, actually I’m on a train. With brakes.”

“Yes, a train you never should have gotten on if you didn’t want to be in an ocean.”

“You’re crazy.”

“Okay, maybe a third story slash allegory will convince you. Once upon a time there were two men on a train and one thought he wasn’t going to end up at the ocean, but the other once secretly knocked him unconscious until he missed his stop and ended up at the ocean just like he didn’t think was going to happen. The End.”

George again looked at Jerry “I . . . I see.”

“Yes. Anyway, you see my point.”

“I think I’m going to leave now.”

“Yes, that would be wise.”

So George left the room and went to the dining car. There he ordered a scone and repeatedly looked over his shoulder.

======

But what would happen if George were to get off here?

Find out tomorrow in the exciting conclusion of this episode of Metaphor Theatre!

Update: Or you can just read it now!

