Sometimes I leave it up to me blogging readership to help me determine how off base I am. Maybe you can help me here.

So yesterday I was listening to a very serious commentary piece on NPR about the sad practice of extreme hazing which exists in the community of very high quality marching bands in the US. Apparently, new members are regularly and sometime brutally physically beaten as a part of being accepted into the band.

And despite the seriousness and sad nature of the story, I found myself laughing out loud after a three words sentence in the article.

The author was telling about how, in an interview with a band member, he had heard of “how she’d been attacked, time and time again, by the older flutists.”

And then the commentator said*, “That’s right. Even flute players.”

And as I was listening, unfortunately due to my odd sensibilities, all of the indignance and horror that I had been feeling flew away. Because after hearing that sentence, I was was expecting the commentator to continue:

“I mean, flute players are usually dainty, right? They dress in flowing gowns and don’t so much march as flow when they are out on the field, even when the band is playing a cover of a disco song. If I hadn’t heard it with my own ears, I would have thought that a stern look in the eye was as violent as a floutest could ever get. But this is how far these bands have fallen. Even the high woodwinds have been corrupted.”

But no, he went on to describe more of the psychological damages created by this practice.

Meanwhile, I continued chuckling. So . . . shameful, right?

* I know that in the transcript, it says “Yes. Even Flute players”. But if you listen to the audio, he clearly says “That’s right”.

