A  month ago I saw a map (HT: TwentyTwoWords) that showed how many counties away each county in the US was away from the ocean.

I thought it was an interesting look at US geography, but I wanted to see it from a less ocean-centric viewpoint. So I created two new views.

So here is map of how many counties away each county is from Lake Superior

SuperiorCounties3

And here’s a map of how many counties away each county is from a Great Lake

GLCounties3(Click on the maps to see a bigger view)

In either case, I feel bad for the sad people way down in Monroe County, Florida – a full 52 or 37 counties away!

Notable -On the Superior Map, the west coast is much closer than the east coast (23 compared to 29 counties)

Boring details:
Uses Roadwise Contiguousness (i.e. can you drive or walk there from here?)
Corners count.

