20161013t0848-5841-cns-pope-lutherans-refugees-800x500

I was asked by my Facebook friend Chris what I thought about this article from what the Pope said last fall about Christianity and helping immigrants.

Here’s one paragraph from the article.

“It’s hypocrisy to call yourself a Christian and chase away a refugee or someone seeking help, someone who is hungry or thirsty, toss out someone who is in need of my help,” he said. “If I say I am Christian, but do these things, I’m a hypocrite.”

Here are my comments:

1. I’m not Catholic, so the Pope isn’t an authority over my beliefs. I prefer to go directly to what the Bible says.

2. That being said, what the Pope says here is reasonable.

3. I note that he speaks of ‘chasing away’ or ‘tossing out’ those who are hungry and needy. This doesn’t speak to what he thinks we should do with people who are in other countries who are in need. He certainly isn’t calling (at least here) for a nation to bring the poor and needy in from other countries.

4. I’m aware some travelers were sent home. Were they poor and needy?

5. If he did call for nations to accept refugees, I would look for documentation for how many Muslim refugees the Vatican has taken in. I know it’s a small place, but I’m sure they could find space for a couple hundred.

6. No person or nation can help everyone. They shouldn’t be expected to. But a person or nation should strive to help more than zero people. The hard question is – how many more than zero? There is not a objective answer to this question.

7. I believe the U.S. should help people (foreign and domestic) who are in need. I believe the U.S. should allow some immigrants and refugees from other countries.  The similar hard questions are – how many and where from?

8. If the question is: “If President Trump calls himself a Christian, is he a hypocrite when he doesn’t allow refugees from the seven nations?”, I’d answer this way:
A. This would not be in my top five reasons of why I don’t think Trump is a Christian.
B. Every president ever has been criticized for not acting like a Christian.
C. This is one of many issues where no matter what side a president takes, he’ll be called by some to be acting in a non-Christian way.
D. I recommend looking for other arguments why Trump’s new travel policy is foolish and wrong.

9. Trumps new policy is, at best, extremely heavy handed and has done harm to people.

10. I agree that to say you are a Christian and act in unchristlike ways makes you a hypocrite.

11. Every Christian is, at times, hypocritical. Every time we sin. I thank God for what His Son did for us to take away our sins. But even as we (reasonably, wisely) look outward to what our Christian politicians are doing, we should look inward to our own lives.

