220px-c_triad_open_position-svg

I’ve noticed that worship leaders ask the worship team or the choir to not sing in parts during the first verse. This makes sense because (1) it helps teach the melody to those who don’t know it yet, and (b) it gives the worship team something to build to.  But I often have difficulty doing this – I find myself singing harmony on the first slide without trying to.

Here’s a few reasons why (not really in any order):

1. I think vocal parts make the song sound more appealing.
2. Sometimes a harmony part is more in my range or easier to sing than the melody.
3. Sometimes I don’t know a melody, and the odds of singing a harmony accurately are higher than the one note of the melody.
4. I like singing a duet with my wife. Sometimes it’s a trio with my wife (also singing harmony) and whoever is around us.
5. In smaller groups (of less than 10 singers) I’m hoping that singers who know they aren’t always on pitch will feel more comfortable singing, because harmonies covers up their misplaced notes.
6. The old hymn writers worked hard to add harmonies.
7. I want to be an example for my kids.
8. I’m hoping it gives joy and aides the worship of those who can hear me.
9. I feel like harmonies do a better job of showing the congregatedness of the congregations.
10. Three verses ::
Live in harmony with one another – Romans 12:16
May the God of endurance and encouragement grant you to live in such harmony with one another, in accord with Christ Jesus – Romans 15:5
And above all these put on love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony – Colossians 3:14

There is beauty in harmony.

===

Did I miss any good reasons?

