And yes, I’m a bit late in sending it out.

Since 2002,  we have been sending out our Christmas letter (with a picture) in a ‘By The Numbers’ fashion – for these reasons:

1. It’s unique.
2. It does a good job of telling about our year, and state of being.
3. It shows my interest in numbers and lists.
4. My feeling is – the shorter a Christmas list, the more likely it is that people will read it – but I admit that this year we moved from a third sheet to a half sheet.

Here is this years, only slightly edited -

JamFam BY THE NUMBERS – 2008

   Historic State Park Geocaches found on the Eastern border of Minnesota: 12

      Fish caught by Jamsco on his first men’s boundary waters trip since before kids: 1

Picnics: 81 . . . beat last years record by 2

   Years Jamsco had Bob as a father: 28  (He is very grateful)

        Fighter Verse Song CDs given out at Bethlehem (our church): 950 (songs written by Jamsco)

Holes in garage roof when big branch fell during storm: 3

Trees taken down in our yard to prevent further damage: 3 1/2

Inches wide at the base of the largest tree: 46     *    The tree’s age: 100+

      Kids (from two families) stung by yellow jackets when a hive was discovered by Erik: 7

   Times Erik was stung: 8      *     Kids in the five families in our small group: 21

   Years it took Bethel to have a Children’s Choir at the Festival of Christmas: 52

JamFam kids in the Festival Children’s Choir: 3   *   Performances: 5

   Birth weight of our newly adopted child named Foster: 6 lbs, 5 oz

   Minutes after Foster was born that Debbie was holding him: 70

   Age of our kids on November 21st: 10,9,8,7,6,5 (years), and 4 (days)

“   Listen to me, O house of Jacob . . . who have been borne by me,

from before your  birth, carried from the womb; even to your old age I am He

    and to gray hairs I will carry you.  I have made, and I will bear; I will carry and will save.” Isaiah 46:3-4

   Months Foster was carried by God in the womb of a gracious woman: 9

   Years Jamsco’s dad was carried by God (even to his old age): 77

==

Tomorrow: what was on the flip side

